Trying the Ubuntu 8.04 release candidate

Hardy is so close to final; but for now I have my Ubuntu 8.04 liveCD release candidate to play with. I never installed any hardy alphas since I knew I’d have to grab the final anyways, but this leaves me drooling for the stable version due in four days.

I actually got the CD image via a torrent today (using deluge, not transmission ๐Ÿ˜ ), since the direct download servers were probably being overused. It was very fast, almost seven times as fast as the previous… Anyways, I’ll announce the new features right now.

There is now Active Directory integration which “enables seamless integration of Ubuntu within an Active Directory network”. iSCSI support has been fully added into the kernel, there is memory protection which will defend (more so than normal) against malicious code, the new and improved firewall and the latest Linux kernel.

There is a bunch of new artwork as well, which I greatly enjoy and a few other features I covered in the other alpha “reviews” I did. Inkscape (my favorite!) has been introduced into a new version and a new utility which enables you to see the hard drive checking status while starting up. It replaces the text counterpart and is in the form of the Ubuntu splash screen. You can also now choose to not check the disk by pressing escape.

It comes with the Firefox beta five now as well. It comes packed with a bunch of new features and leaves me waiting for the final release of it too. All I can do now is play around with it (although, I still don’t like the Firefox theme for Linux).

Hardy heron has come far in the past while, and Ive been keeping a steady eye on it. I highly recommend that you give this a try (liveCDs are useful) and add your insight somewhere. After this, I want to see some Ibex!

Best,
nikoPSK

~ by nikopsk on April 20, 2008.

4 Responses to “Trying the Ubuntu 8.04 release candidate”

  1. I will try it in due time.
    I can’t waste 700 MBs of bandwidth for something that is not final nor complete ๐Ÿ˜€

  2. I just wanted to see the new artwork. The torrent version got to me in basically five minutes. ๐Ÿ˜

  3. 700 MBs in 5 minutes?
    That’s 140MBpm or 2MBps!

  4. Yes… my two modems aid me and there were 350 out of the 500 seeders. ๐Ÿ˜ฎ

Leave a Reply

 
