APTonCD, install packages anywhere

For those of you who have Debian based system not connected to the internet somewhere and would like to grab packages easily, for others who do multiple reinstalls occasionally and are tired of always downloading files over and over or those who have their system tailored with packages here and there but need to (for some reason) wipe and start over, APTonCD is for you.

It will find all the packages you’ve install with apt-get and list them for you to choose all or most of the ones you want. Then will burn your custom repository to a DVD or CD which you can bring anywhere you want so that you can install to any machine without downloading. It can also just create CD images.

Although, I wish I could just enter the .deb name and APTonCD would grab it for me rather then myself having a locally stored package… but oh well. It does everything nicely and I didn’t encounter any errors during the burning process which is great too.

I must say, it’s a great application; but there are a few things I would enjoy to be added. I enjoy having an easy repository and it will make my life easier especially with the script I’ve been working on to bring Ubuntu up to my standards on a fresh install.

To grab APTonCD, you can just do a simple install with the command I provide and then you can get started with the application by heading over to System -> Administration -> APTonCD. You should be able to find your way around from there.

sudo apt-get install aptoncd

Well, I honestly hope you enjoy this and that it aids you or a buddy in some sort of way. I was looking for a nice piece of voice recognition software, but I couldn’t find any good ones 😦 . I should have quick Gimp tutorial in the near future and if you haven’t noticed already, I added some “badges” to my sidebar for applications I widely endorse.

Best to you all,
nikoPSK

~ by nikopsk on April 13, 2008.

4 Responses to “APTonCD, install packages anywhere”

  1. About the badges: the background colors on them are rather bright, and they’re pretty harsh on my eyes

  2. aptoncd is great and all but just wait for my project to be released: APTonUSB. I will probably end up changing the name to something different, but essentially it will be like using Synaptic on another computer with high speed, saving the packages to be installed onto a USB drive and then installing them when you get back home. Great for dialup users! πŸ˜€ Check out the official site at http://aptonusb.sourceforge.net

  3. /me cringes at the spelling mistakes…

    Anyway πŸ˜‰

    I’ve been using APTOnCD for about a year and have found it useful,but something else to check out is remastersys…
    I used it to make a custom LiveCD (DVD actually) of my current Ubuntu install and then installed that on my mum’s laptop…
    Everything (Yes DVD playback,this means you!) worked perfectly,and the only configuration I did was to uninstall glade and a few other dev tools that my mum didn’t want.

  4. OOh, APTonUSB! Okay, badges… I could tone them down to theme colours. And I’m glad you like it Xavieran. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

 
