A tribute to ACC

I enjoy forums; something about being in one adds a perspective to being in a certain crowd/ community and having a voice. Kind of like blogging, you can express your opinions of things to a certain extent or just loung around with other members and gain amity. I don’tย like being a member of too many forums, I could probably handle five or six (including the small forums) as I like to keep focus.

Well, many of you (reading this now) may have probably met me at the Ubuntu forum. It’s a nice way to make friends; forums. Some of you may notice my absense at Ubuntuforums, but sadly, I have had to move on. I will explain it in a future post.ย Anyways, I am member of a few (just a few) forums like the Teeworlds (Noo, it’s now named “Teeworlds” wtf ๐Ÿ˜ฅ ), Compiz-Fusion, Mybbthemes, Dr Small’s secret one (shh) and finally the ACC forum.

So, you might know, a while back my friend Nathan had a forum up with Freehostia and we had a small(ish) range of members, but enough to keep it fun. He did mess it up twice because of Freehostia’s mysql servers that like to break and a horrible control panel. So, now he’s gotten a more proffesional form of hosting to host all his needs (whatever they may be ๐Ÿ˜‰ ) and he kindly shares the space with us too.

Although, I better make use of my space before time runs out… Okay, let’s get to the main focus of ACC. It’s a meeting room, lounge and support forum where we mostly just hang out and have fun. Although it may seem like a waste of time, it’s not, it’s nice for basic linux support, general discussions, a (word) game section, tutorials, the different focus forums; like the art forum and much more.

It’s a kind of a layed-back forum, although we had our own little troll at both the Freehostia forum and just recently the new one. Not that severely bad (swearing though… ๐Ÿ˜ฆ ), but just annoying… like ten year olds playing videogames they are bad at and then they swear at you for owning them… ah well. I was also at David’s forum too for a little while, but I guess his has kind of merged within Nathan’s.

At the early days of the forum, we went through lots of changes; mainly to the theme which was kindly provided by Dr Small’s sister, Firefox-wiz. She is truly gifted in the artistic sense and I enjoyed her “Alien-tech” theme at the time it was used, the final choice of theme is her “SmootOrange” one. Many thanks to her and the rest of the Mybbthemes support community for tips on forum management and customization.

I’ll wrap this up saying the forum is closed at the time of writing due to a massive flame/ spam attack from the infamous ban-o-man. It should be back up again by tomorrow morning and you can enjoy it then. I recommend you join and make friends with us over there. We will welcome you with warm hands as we get more familiar with each other. I haven’t wrote a thing there yet as I joined on-course with my trip; expect a flurry of posts from me when I get back ๐Ÿ˜‰ .

ACC:
http://grubbn.com/acc/

See you there!
nikoPSK

~ by nikopsk on March 23, 2008.

9 Responses to “A tribute to ACC”

  1. Ah! We cleaned up that mess Nicely. To prevent further security problems, however, an administrator is now required to review your registration to activate you. The forums are back up!

  2. Ah, the administration thing wasz probably a bad choice as it’s a small forum. When it grows, maybe disable it.

  3. I am a member there too! ๐Ÿ˜€
    You ain’t got no idea how many forums I have registered on, Niko… Hundreds! ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. I can only handle so many without loosing intrest or forgetting about some… ๐Ÿ˜‰

  5. Well I do that all the time… ๐Ÿ™‚
    I never said I visit all the hundreds that I joined ๐Ÿ˜›

  6. Hehe, all is fair then. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  7. Dr Small has a secret forum!?

  8. (You’re not supposed to know ๐Ÿ˜‰ )

  9. Yes yes, of course… a secret forum ๐Ÿ˜›

Leave a Reply

 
