Firefox 3, beta 4 with lovely updates

Like candy, I can’t stay away from Firefox. The new beta for testing only, is now out. Although, when I did launch it up, I expecting to see the funky looking navigational buttons, but actually was encountered by… none! ๐Ÿ˜ฅ

So, I had to place them there manually and live with the fact I don’t get funky buttons (funky being like in the windows version, resembling Vista beta 1 navigational buttons). Sorry, I couldn’t get this post up yesterday when the beta was new, I was pretty busy and four cups of self brewed coffee doesn’t keep me up for some reason.

Well, starting off, I can tell you many tweaks, fixes and features were introduced. A speed boost has also been introduced under the name of PGO (profile guided optimizations) which “provides an optimized Firefox build based on the way it internally works.”

It is only for Windows at the moment, but will come for us Linux users (apple too!). According to Mozilla Links there is a noticeable change in JavaScript loading times.There is also a memory cycle collector (basically a regulator) to improve Firefox’s overall speed, but I won’t go into to much about that.

The “Library” has a better search feature to find history, tags and bookmark. You can select specific areas to locate entries, what to search (the title, address and likes) and lets you combine areas to refine your search even more. You can save searches for further usage too.

The bookmarks has still gone pretty much unchanged by the hands of the Mozilla developers,ย  except that maybe I didn’t notice if this was in beta three, but you can use tag; much like I use tags for my blog. Say, I have an bookmark being my weblog, I can tag it with (I like being over excessive with tags…): blog, weblog, linux, ubuntu, nikopsk, niko…

You get it. The address bar doesn’t just look through history anymore, it can now look through bookmarks, which is great. It has adaptive learning based on what you type in the address bar and then what you select to give better selections.

There is the new visual update, with icons (I like the add-on icon, the Lego brick, plus the new widgets) and more for Windows, Linux and Mac selectively, to make Firefox fit in better. There is also download pausing, which is great. Say I have to leave to… Err… Piano, and I’m downloading some large game demo, I can pause it and resume it when I come back home because I don’t generally like leaving the computer on.

I mentioned previously, the ability to get add-ons/ plug-ins directly from Firefox. It’s still there and I love the simplistic concept. Although the Linux theme’s tabs are still a bit clunky, overall this is a great browser coming in for the fourth round, can’t wait for the new throbbers, hehe. (I am trying to use the Windows version in Wine too. ๐Ÿ˜› )

Mozilla Links:
http://mozillalinks.org/wp/2008/03/firefox-3-beta-4-review/3/

Best to you,
nikoPSK

~ by nikopsk on March 12, 2008.

5 Responses to “Firefox 3, beta 4 with lovely updates”

  1. Meh, I’ll stick with my Opera

  2. Meh, I’ll stick with my epiphany with default smooth scrolling ๐Ÿ˜‰

  3. Meh, Who uses Firefox to download anyhow? If I need to download some big file and pause it, simply use wget ๐Ÿ˜€

    wget -c http://url.tld/big_BIG.file

    ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Meh, who uses Firefox to browse the web, anyways? Lynx is the best ๐Ÿ˜‰

  5. Lynx is nice, but I prefer Firefox simply over anything else. I guess I stuck to it. I can’t get a feel for epiphany or any of the other browsers…

Leave a Reply

 
