Gnome 2.22

Yup, that’s right, the quick, easy to use and simplistic desktop environment is going to be back again (soon) with version 2.22. It has a bunch of new features which I’ll cover later on in this post and all the features from gnome 2.20 (2.20 being the current release).

Of course, gnome is free and provides basically everything you need for your computing needs/ environment. I’ve never really had any problems with gnome and will stick to it along with my occasional XFCE run-through.

Like Ubuntu, a new version of gnome is released every six months to keep everyone happy ( πŸ˜• ) while providing bug fixes, additional software, upgrades and variable features. I enjoy them all.

For this release, as stated at the gnome release notes page has covered many, many bugs while also listening to users for ideas and possible additions to gnome. I’ll start of with the new additional application which I’ve been eying for some time now.

I saw this a while back when looking for a sort of “Photo Booth” for Linux, and hence, I see this. I did not try it as I do not have a video camera, but rather learned more about it by watching videos and reading documentation.

Well, the application in question is called “Cheese” (say cheese! πŸ˜€ ) and it has some nice features. Namely it can take pictures or live video, while also adding various effect filters like distorts etcetera. Pretty cool (I wish pidgin had this integrated (?)).

Well, now I won’t need Compiz-Fusion (did I ever? I don’t use it anymore…) to do my minimalistic desktop effects, I’ll just use gnome’s new built in window composting. As I said, simple and that’s the way the gnome project is going to keep it.

The two main noticeable effects, said softpedia are the new window drop-shadows (goody!) and the Compiz-esque new ALT+TAB switcher which I disliked previously in gnome. It will add live window previews while also supported lightly opaque transparency (throughout gnome). Though effects are turned off by default, to turn them on, I’ll quote the following phrase:

If you know you have graphics hardware that supports compositing, you can run the following command: gconftool-2 -s --type bool /apps/metacity/general/compositing_manager true from the run dialog, or set the key in the Configuration Editor. To disable compositing, set the key to false.

Included as well, as I’ve stated in my previous Hardy Alpha posts, is the new GVFS replacing Gnome-VFS, which most gnome core applications already utilize. Another thing is Totem, or Movie Player now have better support for DVDs and digital TV. There will also be a bunch of new plug-ins arriving and play-list sharing.

Also, the new International clock which I’ve also mentioned previously is included. A nice little icon of up to I don’t know how many clocks for different locations will be added to the clock applet where a nice little map will also pinpoint their locations for you.

Although I don’t use evolution much as it doesn’t seem to like Hotmail and vice-versa (I might get something that can use their chat network, but not be “@hotmail.com”), there are a bunch of neat looking features for it too. For one, it has message tagging and it looks better. πŸ˜›

There’s lots more which I won’t cover but you can check at the release notes website which I’ll provide another link too at the bottom of the page, but I’ll notify you of a few new things such as new options for the mouse configuration, such as gestures.

Policy Kit is now integrated, there are better system tools and more language support. I might as well say as well that in gnome 2.20 epiphany got smoother scrolling; thumbs up πŸ˜‰ . Well, I’ll have to wait a bit more for gnome 2.22 and 2.24, but for now I’ll keep myself happy with brawl videos.

Release notes:
http://library.gnome.org/misc/release-notes/2.22/

Best,
nikoPSK

~ by nikopsk on March 10, 2008.

7 Responses to “Gnome 2.22”

  1. /* I have a short attention span, so didn’t read your whole post, but I’ll pretend I did */

    Great post niko πŸ˜€

  2. Sounds interesting. I may have to try it out sometime when Hardy comes out. (is it going to be on Hardy or not?).

    Although I am a IceWM addict because of it’s simplicity and light-headedness πŸ™‚ I still like to see what is going on with everything else, thus the choice and the freedom to choose what suits us best.

    Instead of “Here is your interface. Blue Taskbar and Green Start button! Please enjoy it, because if you don’t, there is no alternative!” πŸ˜€

  3. Joe, this was only 550 something words, my preceding post was 1000 plus… 😯 Thanks. πŸ™‚

    I believe it will be in hardy as the alpha 6 is using gnome 2.20 (I’ll have to check again). I enjoy openbox and iceWM as well.

    By the way, you could have a silver task-bar πŸ˜‰ .

    nikoPSK

  4. Ooo! Goody goody!! I love compositing πŸ˜€
    Yes it will be in Hardy. Ubuntu has it’s releases synced with the Gnome releases so it will always have the latest Gnome at release time.

  5. Ah, cool. Ok then. πŸ™‚

  6. Yes the current gnome is in the Ubuntu alpha6 (I’m typing this from the alpha :P) and I have to say it’s VERY nice … I’m really looking forward to the beta/full version πŸ˜€

    One thing though …. I need to show you all the new background:

  7. Call of duty… four… πŸ˜€ I love the alpha, and the barf heron. πŸ™‚ It looks like barf splatter, but in an artistic manner. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

 
