Tilda, the dropdown terminal.

I like all the games with the drop-down console windows. They are convenient and look good too. I have been looking at this application for some time now, and decided to give it a run today. It’s name; tilda.

We actually originally discussed about this at IRC, I think bodhi_zazen was the one who brought it up. :-D. As mentioned, I just tried it now. Tilda has some cool features, but when you first run it it’s kind of small… It’s in the top left corner of your screen. I set the width to match my monitor/ screen, basically to make it have a more in game feel. I set the width to 222 because I like it like that 😉 .

Now, you may be wondering, how do I set all these options in tilda? Well, first you’re going to have to (if you haven’t done so already) just do a quick sudo apt-get install of tilda as so:

sudo apt-get install tilda

That will install it. To launch just goto: Application -> Accessories -> Tilda and you will encounter the preferences window (To later access, just drop down Tilda, right click then select “Preferences”) where you can adjust all the various aspects of this useful little application. Let’s first head on over to the key-bindings tab which is the last one. Let’s set it to “F12” as I find that the best.

It encloses the option to enable a kind of transparency, but I wouldn’t call it that. I just takes your background image and darkens depending on the level you set, doesn’t even grab icons… shame really I just left it nice and black. You can also select if you want a scrollbar shown, but you can just as easily do without it by just scrolling.

It also has a nice transition from up to down, kind of a slide, which I like. I would prefer a few things though to better this… Better transparency is about all I can think of right now; Oh! Maybe options for transitions, that would be cool, I’d like a fade option please.

There are some other options such as text colour and background colour that you can change (you can also have tabs by right clicking then selecting new tab, to close just right click and then close tab), but I leave those for you to discover. It’s a nice quick and handy application, but opacity/ eyecandy leaves a lot to be desired/ answered. Very nice; but what happens if you run sudo apt-get remove tilda inside itself?

nikoPSK

~ by nikopsk on February 26, 2008.

11 Responses to “Tilda, the dropdown terminal.”

  1. Nice 🙂 I might give it a try

  2. I may try it out latter when I get back today 🙂

  3. It’s very cool, I suggest.

  4. Man, that is neat.
    I got it installed, and am using it now 🙂

  5. What’s your config? 😀

  6. 1) Start Tilda Hidden
    2) Terminal Bell
    3) Height: 50%
    4) Width: 100%
    5) Animated Pulldown Delay: 5000
    6) Built-in schemes: Green on Black
    7) Keybindings: `

    Screenshot:

  7. Thanks!

  8. I tried Tilda once, I didn’t really like it…but it wasn’t long after I started using Ubuntu again properly…and I didn’t really use the terminal much then.

    Might look into it again 🙂

  9. I don’t know how I lived without it! 🙂

  10. I love it! It’s so convenient. And I love the animation slide thing. Only problem is that there’s a bug where it turns into a gray square and is useless until you restart it. However it’s been fixed in Hardy 😀 Also it has true transparency in Hardy with a composite manager in use. 😀

  11. Tra… Tra… Transparency?!? Cool! Can’t wait for hardy final. 😆

Leave a Reply

 
