Linux is special

Want to make it look like windows/ mac? Well I won’t let you (last sentence from portal…). Anyways, to all those people who have ever wanted or will want to bastardize their linux operating system, read this first.

Linux is special. It was made to be different. There are the various select distributions which have the more Windows menu bars. Linux does incorporate things from other Operating systems (breadcrumbs etc…), but adds it’s own personal twist to them depending on what it is and how it is used, if you so want, here goes my feeble attempt at making Ubuntu looking more like XP.

If you really want to make your Ubuntu setup look like windows for family/ relatives/ yourself (shame on you, slap yourselves πŸ˜‰ ), Just remove the top panel, if you want, put the trash on the desktop, move around applets and presto. Your theme is still nice, you have a feel of being in a windows work environment, but have kept the aspects of Ubuntu.

Now, to add the trash to the desktop, just open up an ALT+F2 dialog and type “gconf-editor”. Navigate thought the folder hierarchy to Apps -> Nautilus -> Desktop. You’ll see a value named “trash_icon_visible”, check that and presto, trash bin on your desktop.

Now, to customize your panels. Lets start by removing that top bar. Just right click and hit “Delete this panel”. Let’s play around with the applets now. So, if we want a pop-up menu rather than a drop-down one, add the “Main Menu” applet on the left side of your bottom panel replacing the show desktop one (This one has all the features of the menu bar, so no worries. πŸ™‚ ).

You can remove the trash applet if you wish (If you did decide to go with the trash icon on your desktop) and now you can just leave the “Window List” applet where it is. You now add the “Notification Area” applet on the right side. You can experiment with a few other applets if you wish.

This is just basic guidelines, and for the people who want a more windows feel to Ubuntu. I don’t have this setup, I left the default, because I can adapt and am happy with how it looks.

I just want to say thats without theming, we got that basic look. I would still recommend just staying with default. Linux is linux, and it is nothing else. Want windows? Use windows. Linux is unique, and we both know that.

Best,
nikoPSK

~ by nikopsk on February 13, 2008.

4 Responses to “Linux is special”

  1. I use IceWM and I guess you could say it has the windows look and feel, but that’s not the reason I use it.

    I use it because it’s lightweight, simple to configure and not very popular. I don’t like to use mainstream stuff, that way I stay out of the cliques.

    But Linux is linux, and I try not to make it look like another OS, but rather, mine πŸ™‚

  2. Exactly once again. This started off as a rant, but I guess turned into a howto that I would tell someone (say family) if they wanted that feel. IceWM is very nice. πŸ™‚

    I have to say openbox is the nicest.

    Best,
    nikoPSK

  3. I like my Gnome the way it is. No icons on the desktop, nice and clean look πŸ™‚

  4. I like to keep icons for some reason… it feels blank if there are none. 😐

Leave a Reply

 
