New Firefox 3, beta 3

Enjoy new weird (I’ll get used to them) buttons! šŸ˜„ Well, I hope it’s not as bad as the windows version. The new back/ forward buttons remind me of Vista Beta 1. It is still a huge leap forward in the world of the fox.

I have been using firefox since The first version, I thought it was 1337 (lmao) to use back then. It has progressed a long way since then. I tried minefield and gran paradiso, but decided to wait a bit longer (as they were just alphas) to go into firefox 3.

Firefox three has gone through eight alphas and so far, three betas, progressed a long way from alpha 1 (forget the codename). As the Mozilla Links site states:

Without a doubt the most visible change introduced in this beta are the theme updates in all platforms.

To some extent, I just don’t find the XP and Vista Icons that pleasing… maybe they aren’t as glossy as the old ones, or just plain different style.The linux version uses an ubuntu theme, which I find is less nice than the default buttons.

We don’t get those funky back forward buttons yet though (for either good or bad šŸ˜ ) The tabs (I am going to be talking about the linux version from now on) are a bit too clunky for my liking and some of it doesn’t fit in with the rest.

The new address bar has a nice feature. It now includes site name searching from history. So I can type “Mr Inte–” and my blog would pop up. It also has medium sized icons on the left.

There is now a quick access to add something to your bookmarks too, on the right side of the address bar there is a little star, click on it and you get an easy access bookmark this dialog where you can specify tags and the rest of the bundle. šŸ˜€

Reading through things a bit more, we (linux users) are due for that new navigation package! (yippee?) It looks cool to the most extent. Also, new throbbers soon, that will look great.

New history window two, it’s called “Library” and lets you organize everything. You can search through everything easily. I don’t know much about it yet, but am playing around a bit and have learned more than I knew at the beginning. šŸ˜‰

When I went to go disable ipv6, in “about:config”, I got a little reminder telling me I shouldn’t mess around too much or I’ll break firefox, good for beginners who don’t really know what they are in/ doing.

there is now no home button (one can easily be added back to the navi-bar), but it can be located in the bookmarks dropdown. The splitter to change the length of the address bar and search bar is invisible now too.

Now for linux, this new beta adds file options and new print dialogs that add thumbnails and more options for printing (will go great with my new printer!). Page info dialog updated as well for more info.

Another cool feature that I found about at Mozilla links is that when you have tab overflow and the the tabs go off the tab menu, when you move through the they scroll smoothly.

Finally, I’ve always wanted this, pausing a download in firefox to shutdown or because you have to leave right away, and resuming it when you boot up again. I now also get that little “all downloads complete” peekaboo up from the bottom right hand corner. There’s also a status bar notification that provides info about the downloads in progress.

Another cool little thing I just found out about is that firefox 3 now has a “Get-Addons” Section in addons.You can search for addons, click on them for a more detailed description and install them when you have decided you like it.

now Beta 4 is coming soon (yay)! That will include most likely the new throbber, funky linux buttons, a bunch of other cool tweaks. This is a great new firefox, and I didn’t cover everything, like the new security features and some other things.

This has been a great experience, and I’ll provide some links to download it and the mozilla links site too, please try it out!

Download (will end up in your home folder):
wget -P ~ ftp://ftp.mozilla.org/pub/firefox/releases/3.0b3/linux-i686/en-US/firefox-3.0b3.tar.bz2 && tar xjf ~/firefox-3.0b3.tar.bz2 -C ~

Mozilla Links:
http://mozillalinks.org/wp/2008/02/a-deep-look-to-firefox-3-beta-3/4/

Please enjoy,
nikoPSK

~ by nikopsk on February 12, 2008.

5 Responses to “New Firefox 3, beta 3”

  1. I’m now using beta 3 as my main browser and like the new buttons. šŸ˜

  2. They take some time… I tried this theme in firefox 2 and went back to the default. Firefox 3 is a great browser. I’m getting more and more intrigued by the funky buttons for linux (as long as you can choose between normal and funky at will!).

    PS: I can edit comments, so no need for you to. šŸ™‚

  3. I tried out Firefox 3 the other day, and I must say that it does have alot of new features that I like. Of course, I’m not using it now because hardly any of my extensions were compatible, but maybe someday it the future.

    By the way, here’s a picture of my Firefox:
    http://img37.picoodle.com/img/img37/4/2/13/drsmall/f_20080213104m_0b90803.png

  4. using firefox beta 3 v 4, i like the speed and new set up,but the security wont let me add certain addons , it wont let me download freecorder ,heres firefox offical reply , Add-ons in Firefox 3 are not allowed to update themselves over non-secure
    channels. I suggest getting in contact with the makers of Freecorder to see if
    they’re working on a solution. sounds like their deciding whats good and bad for me , just like a few other browsers lol ,, have a nice day kenny

  5. Thanks for your comment Kenny. šŸ™‚ It’s still not final; so I’m not using it for main browsing. I just test with it.

Leave a Reply

 
