Photoshop CS/ CS2 Now Under Wine!

It’s amazing how things pile up when I’m gone… even for a day. First off, I missed the 50 K users at ubuntuforums, Second, I didn’t get in yesterday’s post and third I have to go through email, thread subscriptions, and lifehacker articles.

I’m one to like Image editing programs. The Gimp could never replace photoshop, but it’s nice all the same. Anyways, Photoshop CS and CS2 should now work due to wine updates. I can’t believe wine is so close to version 1, but heres the quote from winehq:

Photoshop CS/CS2 should now work, please help us testing it.

It is amazing how far they’ve come from the first time I used it up to now. Still a bit buggy for some apps, but they take their time to review them and support them; for that, I give everyone over at the wine team a great big hand.

I get these commands from another source, softpedia and combined them by adding the && (I thought it was just a simple apt-get… oh well šŸ˜› ). Will now provide them to you for installing wine. I’ll just do a fresh install of Ubuntu when hardy comes out, that will ail some current problems. Well, here are the commands, but first, open out friend, the terminal. (Applications -> Accessories -> Terminal)

So lets wget some things, update and install wine (if not already owned):
wget -q http://wine.budgetdedicated.com/apt/387EE263.gpg -O- | sudo apt-key add - && sudo wget http://wine.budgetdedicated.com/apt/sources.list.d/gutsy.list -O /etc/apt/sources.list.d/winehq.list && sudo apt-get update && sudo apt-get install wine

Now, let’s install the wine Internet Explorer, run this in an “ALT-F2” dialog:
wine iexplore http://appdb.winehq.com/

Click install when asked, wait and when you see the winehq site displayed, you know it’s working and may now close WINEIE.

Now, we need to download a Tahoma font for wine, search google for “tahoma filetype:ttf” and download from whatever site you wish. Make sure the font ends up in:

~/.wine/drive_c/windows/fonts

Once done, just pop in your CS or CS2 CD, then locate the installer on the disk in the “Adobe Photoshop CS2/ CS” folder and launch it. All you have to do from there is follow your natural instinct, sign your soul to adobe and keep clicking next. Once done, find Photoshop in Applications -> Wine -> Programs directory.

Hope you enjoyed this,
nikoPSK

~ by nikopsk on February 10, 2008.

4 Responses to “Photoshop CS/ CS2 Now Under Wine!”

  1. Yay! Though, I’ll stick with CS3 on windows šŸ™‚

  2. Hehe, for all us that don’t have windows near them (I have a disk and a pc underneath my feat… although I’m too lazy šŸ˜ ) I think this is nice. šŸ™‚

  3. Yay! Another win for the Linux world xD. I think I’m going to stick with The GIMP though. After being Photoshop free for a few months now I’m finally getting used to it.

  4. Although, there are some things photoshop can do that the gimp can’t although the gimp is nice just the same. šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

 
