Cool blur effect!

Well, first off, I’d like to give a hand to Martje_001 for showing me this in a nice GTK-recordmydesktop video. Basically what this effect does is focuses a user/ viewer to a certain point in a image. Particularity useful for showing people specific things in photos.

This is also very easy, so don’t be shy to the gimp. It does take time to learn things, but I’ve gotten lots of experience from only a small amount of time. I suggest you head over to a tutorial site or something and start learning once done this quick and easy tutorial.

This is a wonderful effect, using it now… It’s even nicer if you use the option “Fuzzy Border” (like I did in the photo below) under Filters -> Decor. Play around too, maybe for the more experienced users, add a reflection or something. Anything that you like, that’s what’s cool about art, you can do whatever you want (and this is art, I’m pretty sure).

There is a video, but I like explaining things in words πŸ˜‰ . I’ll give a link to the ogg at the end. Lets get started people! So first, take a screenshot of something (This could also be a nice effect on say, a sign in a photograph) and open it up with the gimp.

Now, use the “Rectangle Select Tool” to specify your area. Just box around it (I suppose this could be done with the freehand or circle select tools as well πŸ™‚ ). Once boxed up, go to the select dropdown in your image and then hit “Invert”.

Now, head over to The “Filters” menu and then: Blur -> Gaussian Blur. Anything past a 5.0 Pixel blur on both works nicely. I’ll provide the link to one of my images, and now the link to the ogg for better visual clarification. πŸ™‚

The final Product:
http://img34.picoodle.com/img/img34/4/2/7/f_ScreenshotLm_24cb3d0.png

The Ogg:
http://www.xs4all.nl/~mgj1/out.ogg

I hope you enjoy (I love it πŸ˜€ ),
nikoPSK

~ by nikopsk on February 7, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
