Transparent Blurred Terminal!

You ever experimented with the terminal opacity under The Current Profile option in the menu? I find, plain opacity is just annoying and distracting. So here’s a little trick thats easy on the eyes as well as to do. 😉

This somewhat resembles aero, Windows Vista’s glass effect. It doesn’t bother me, I think aero looks pretty cool. Anyways, the steps are as follows, and should take maybe 3-5 minutes depending on how fast you are.

So first, you’ll obviously need Compiz fusion. Gutsy comes with it default, so just make sure you have a driver for your graphics card and Desktop Effects enabled. You’ll be needing cssm (compizconfig-settings-manager) for this guide as well. As wordpress doesn’t seem to like the apt: link, just do this in a terminal:

sudo apt-get install compizconfig-settings-manager

Now, open up a terminal and go to: Edit -> Current Profile. Once there, Under the “Title and Command” tab, leave the original title and change Dynamically-set title to “Is not displayed”.

Now go to the “Effects” tab and choose “Transparent Background”; make sure it’s not fully opaque, I’d use something around half. Now, lets launch ccsm that we just installed (or already have 🙂 ) by going to: System -> Preferences -> Advanced Desktop Effects Settings.

Look for the “Blur” plugin, and click on it. Enable it by hitting the check-box on the left side. Now, under “Alpha blur windows” type: title=Terminal. Now, set the Blur filter to Gaussian, Gaussian Radius to 15 and Blur saturation to 0.

That should be it. I hope you enjoy this one, you can do other things than just the terminal. I hope compiz does get improved sometimes soon and the plugins get updates and new ones introduced.

All the best to you,
nikoPSK

~ by nikopsk on February 6, 2008.

19 Responses to “Transparent Blurred Terminal!”

  1. Any chance of a pic so we can see what the end result will be like?

  2. lol, ( 😉 ) Here you go:

    It all depends on how opaque you set it to in current profile. 🙂

  3. I don’t know, but that seems to hurt my eyes worse 😐

  4. Noooooo! 😥 I guess it’s not for everyone Dr Small… 🙂 I don’t like just plain opacity though, and this has a nice effect.

  5. It doesn’t work for me 😦

  6. Really? It doesn’t work if opacity full.

  7. Yeah, no go 😦 I’m using Emerald and I can see that Emerald gets blurred, but it doesn’t seem to have any affect on the terminal. I have it set to about 70% opacity.

  8. Nevermind, apparently it needs to be title=Terminal not type: title=Terminal 😳

  9. lol, at least you got it. Enjoy!. 🙂

  10. Nice effect 🙂 But I don’t think it’s my kind of thing. I like to have the terminal full screen sometimes and look through it at the web page I am copying commands from.

  11. Hey, by the way, nice theme for your blog 🙂

  12. This must require a really good graphics card. I run an ATI Mobility Radeon 2100, and the blur almost froze my computer. I can run most things fine… I use most of the effects. Blur kills it though.

    Looks neat, however.

  13. […] Neat: Transparent blurred terminal. […]

  14. I know, it suits it. 🙂 That’s odd… blur shouldn’t do much to slow your PC…

  15. Thanks !

  16. this effect doesnt work on my pc with ATI graphics card, HD4850.. i have the background semi transparent, but when i enable blur in compiz, the background becomes 100% opaque.

  17. Instead of using the title to match the window, you can also use its class, as explained in http://wiki.opencompositing.org/WindowMatching

    So for a gnome terminal under “Alpha blur windows” you insert

    class=Gnome-terminal

    Thx for the hint, though. I very much like the blur effect.

  18. Addendum: the way i described above lets you blur the terminal without setting its title to “Terminal”.

  19. Ah! Thank you! I’ve figured out the transparency-bit, but could have very little transparency because of the «shine-through». But when I enabled «Blur», I could increase the transparency level for a much smoother look.

    I love Eye Candy, and I love Gnome!

Leave a Reply

 
