So Close, yet So Far

Each day I come to my desk, I look at the case marked so clearly “Windows XP Professional edition”… Sometimes, I want to grab that disk, and install it. Being on Linux Full-Time is frustrating, especially for a gamer and power user in me who wants to squeeze every last bit out of his computer.

It’s not that I have anything against Microsoft, I am not one to induce Windows hate. What I really have something against are the Malicious Crackers (well, I suppose you can’t be malicious and a cracker at the same time… šŸ˜‰ ) who made and are making today the countless number of viruses for Windows Based Systems.

I might also have something against myself. I never thought I would get a virus, I used minimal protection and didn’t scan on a regular basis. Never really wanted too either. What’s neat about linux is I have no worry of viruses, and no need for scanning at all. Great time saver for me. šŸ™‚

Some of my games are a hassle to get running, some don’t run at all. Along with a few other things such as Apple Products and zinio reader. This (the apple products in the greatest means) will improve with the purchase (whenever is happens… šŸ˜• ) of the mac we have been due for awhile.

Maybe even just a new laptop in which I can dual boot would be a great improvement over my current status. I might dual boot in the near future, or run Windows under a VM, but reality remains there will always be viruses. I will need to protect myself from viruses and then enjoy the world of applications enhanced.

All the Best,
nikoPSK

~ by nikopsk on February 3, 2008.

13 Responses to “So Close, yet So Far”

  1. Well, I am a strong supporter of “anti-windows” yet also believe in freedom of choice.

    Dualbooting is fine, and I did it for awhile, but games don’t seem to interest me much anymore. That’s why I plow on with Linux and never think about turning back.

  2. Games? Have I mentioned portal to you? I am not so much in the anti windows, but more the pro linux. I guess I don’t want to be hatefull, as microsoft is still just a company. Just my thoughts.

  3. I found a solution better than duel-booting or virtualisation. I just run Linux on my laptop and Windows on my desktop. All school related things happen on the laptop, and anything that is a hassle in Linux happens on the desktop. The only things I’m using the desktop for now are 1) gaming, 2) pirating^H^H^H^H^H^H^H^Hbacking up my DVDs, and 3) getting torrents (but the torrent thing is just because I don’t want to flog my laptop too much).

  4. No, I’ve never heard of portal.
    I used to play online games all the time, believe it or not, while I was on dialup, but since I’ve had “highspeed” there have been restrictions, so it really dettered my gaming playing…

  5. Portal can be located here Dr Small:
    http://orange.half-life2.com/portal.html

    It’s a first person strategy game.

    Noveaesa, Unfortunately, my laptop that I currently own is so slow, it cannot run linux, so the desktop stays as is. I’m getting a brand-new mac soon, so I should clear up all my problems. We all pirate… hehehehe

  6. Ahoy mates! šŸ˜‰

  7. Argh, we be pirates! hehe

  8. I still haven’t gotten Linux to work with my new LCD. If it wasn’t for NVIDIA, it would work perfectly. Currently I’m running Kubuntu and Windows in a dual-boot, minus the part that I can’t use Kubuntu (it goes to the resolution of 1440×900, but the refresh rate is messed up or something because the screen is all fuzzy (I can’t exactly explain))

  9. Nothing wrong with dual booting. I do it myself. I was a big gamer once, but for some reason they don’t amuse me like they used to. šŸ˜ Though I’ve been noticing I need Windows less and less.

  10. I just wish developers would support linux. Quake has done that, and I applaud that, I just need more developers to do it. (And wine needs more work… though I can hardly blame them, not even at version 1 yet). Valve should step fourth and join the others and support us. šŸ™‚

  11. Hey Niko, it’s fun to read all the “grown-up-like” comments you recieve and post. Yet your only 13! Did anybody know that? Bye anyways, have a nice day šŸ™‚

  12. “grown-up-like comments” ??
    In the world of Linux, you don’t have to be 20 to understand what a fellow geek means šŸ™‚

  13. quite true Mr Small. šŸ˜‰ I think everyone knows I’m thirteen besides maybe NovaAesa and LinuxTechie. šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

 
