I am an ubuntero!

Thanks to the help of Dr Small I now have my own GPG key and I am an Ubuntero! The whole gpg process was a bit of a hassle, but I now understand it completely. It’s pretty cool to send encrypted GPG messages to people on your keyring.

An Ubuntero is basically someone who vows to follow the Ubuntu code of conduct. I signed it after reading the Ubuntu code of Conduct and I think it’s pretty cool. Now I just need to get my first coffee cup over at the forums…

It’s nice to know actually, I am a representative (kind of) now. I really like GPG, but sometimes forget to sign or encrypt my messages… but that’s okay πŸ˜‰ . It’s makes you feel kin of in grade five again when you decrypt a message… hehehe…

To become an Ubuntero yourself, I’ll implement what worked for me and give credit to Dr Small for writing the original guide that aided me. First, let’s install GNU Privacy assistant:
sudo apt-get install gpa

Launch it from Applications -> Accessories -> The GNU Privacy assistant and now create you key. Now, once your key is created, find the ID. To do so, where it says “Key ID :” is your key. πŸ™‚

Upload your key to the Ubuntu key-server with the terminal:
gpg --send-keys --keyserver keyserver.ubuntu.com Key ID

Now, lets upload our key to the key-server. Do so like this:
gpg --export -a Key ID

Paste the output right here, You can search for other people’s keys there, such as mine. It’s a good site for such:
http://keyserver.ubuntu.com:11371/

Now, install FireGPG in Firefox, just go to the site and install the add-on:
http://firegpg.tuxfamily.org/

Now, goto your Launchpad page. On the left, Go to “Update OpenPGP Keys”. Now, get your Key fingerprint like this:
gpg --fingerprint Key ID

Once done, goto your email, find the message and right click it, goto the fireGPG menu, then Decrypt. Enter your password, and click on the link in the decrypted message to complete that. Now, go back to your launchpad page. On the bottom right it should say “Ubuntero: No”, click on no and then download the Code Of Conduct, read it carefully and sign it like this:
gpg --clearsign UbuntuCodeofConduct-1.0.1.txt

Follow the rest of the instructions, and presto. Fellow Ubuntero; I shake your hand. To send encrypted messages to your friends, just get their key from the keyserver, goto the fireGPG menu and hit import. Type a message, FireGPG menu and encrypt. Click their key and paste the output as your message. They can decrypt it with their password.

Hope you enjoyed,
nikoPSK

~ by nikopsk on January 13, 2008.

12 Responses to “I am an ubuntero!”

  1. No problem. Glad I could help you out. It was a fun time πŸ™‚

  2. Hehe, and gpg is so cool. πŸ˜›

  3. oh nice. I don’t exactly know what that means but oh well.

  4. hehe, “I vowed to the code of conduct.”

  5. I thought you would find GPG interesting, once we both got the hang on it πŸ˜‰

  6. So what is the gpg? I think you should make a post detailing it πŸ™‚ Even if it’s just for me

  7. I already did πŸ˜€
    http://php.8ez.com/drsmall/blog/?p=209

  8. Congratulations! πŸ˜€ I remember the gpg part was confusing for me too.

  9. Whoopee!!!
    Congrats!!

    Did you find my comment on Dr Smalls blog useful?

  10. quite so. πŸ™‚

  11. hehe .. I’ll keep my black hat on thx T_T …. but you’ll never know when I might go and break a rule to two.

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Black_hat

  12. Actually, it was mr small who taught me about the hats… but I already knew hacker was a pc enthusiast. πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

 
