The meaning of a blog..?

I am here now to… well… talk to myself out loud. I want to know the real true meaning of a blog. In that sense I mean the importance of the posts. Although many of my posts are rather short, I’ve been reading through other blogs and finding that 90 plus percent of posts are pretty long. That certainly doesn’t impend me from reading them, they are packed full of info.

Now the thing here is, do my posts make an impression on you? Maybe I still need another month or two learning about blogging. A few of my posts have been “omigosh check this out <link> bye!” Not so much but still in that sense. I have cleaned up a few of my posts to actually explain what I am so exited about showing the few number of visitors to my blog.

Problem is, I am generally very busy; but in the future I will try to think about my posts before hitting publish. Take a look at dr small’s blog, k.mandla’s or any other “ubuntu/ linux” based blog. Lots of thought put into them. Here I guess I just started to try out the blogging experience. Do days between posts matter either? I try to post at least once a day. (I am on pacific tim, so some things I post in the morning are counted as the day before.)

I must say I do like it and expect this blog to see a bit more love from me.

Best,
nikoPSK

~ by nikopsk on January 7, 2008.

6 Responses to “The meaning of a blog..?”

  1. well I don’t really visit blogs that are just news (like “here’s a link, see it bye”), but I do visit sites that have at least a paragraph a post, and many blogs I visit have VERY long posts. And I suppose blogs are just a place to write about your days or news of yourself or something. But I like this blog šŸ˜€

  2. Expect my love

  3. I’ve often thought the same about my blog. A lot of my entries are rather short. I’m still new to blogging also. Maybe it’s something to do with new blogs? šŸ˜†
    But I like your blog, it’s nice. šŸ™‚

  4. Thank you very much, I try to give my posts meaning. I have a question, do you prefer links or thumbnails?

    ~/nikoPSK

  5. I have been blogging probably for about 2 years. Not all at the same spot, as when hosting turns sour, I up and leave, and start all over.

    My first spot I started, was Dajoob. It was fairly nice, but their uptime was horrid. Now, they don’t even exist. Then, I moved to Php.us, and you can still find my old blog here:
    http://drsmall.phpnet.us/wp/

    I left there because of their ads that they implemented while I was hosting, which became outrageously annoying, so I went host searching again.

    But when I first started blogging, my posts were short, and basically described something that I had accomplished or discovered. And that was it. Now, I try to post longer entries, and describe how I accomplished it, and how I discovered it, also making it a “Howto” that I can help others out with.

    I love to sit back and read blogs with long posts, such as K.Mandla’s site, for example. He can write some VERY long entries, but they still fascinate me none-the-less.

    You are doing good Niko. You are beginning to add content to your posts, and making it worthwhile to stop by and see what you have to say, and read all of the comments on your entries.

    Good luck! šŸ™‚

  6. Thanks alot! As I read K.Mandla’s blog, they don’t make me want to leave because they are long, they pull me in. Problem is, I am posting most my guides n the forums lately…

    I saw your old blog a while ago, too bad you left. Well, your new one is fine. šŸ™‚ I need to find a way to change the server time as when I post things at 4 PM pacific time it counts it as tomorrow…

    Not too different as I was on eastern only 3 months ago, but I find it a little odd. šŸ˜‰ Glad you enjoy reading my posts and hope to get some more soon. I try to post more interesting stuff so there may be breaks between posts of at most two days.

    Best,
    nikoPSK

Leave a Reply

 
