Some Hardy woes

I finally got Ubuntu Hardy up to my likings and got my SoundBlaster Audigy working. Overall Hardy is a very nice operating system and I really only had one kink so far, but I’ll explain my rough ride on trying to install it. So the reason I didn’t post for the last two days was because of my troubles.

I started by downloading the .iso from the official Ubuntu website and then burning it with Brasero. I then booted into the liveCD, explored a bit and tried to get my sound working. After awhile I just decided to install it and try to fix my sound a bit later.

It was at about 75 percent through the install and then it said it encountered an error. I was doing more than a couple things at the time so I thought maybe my overloading the system caused the failure, so I restarted the process. It failed again when I had just left it so I just rebooted and ran the disk check, there was apparently one error and I couldn’t do anything about it.

Generally I always do a clean install to remove all my useless files (I back up my important ones of course :-P ) and with the failed install was really left with nothing. I couldn’t download the alternate Hardy .iso in the liveCD as I didn’t seem to have permissions to my other drive.

So I grabbed my old Gutsy CD I received with ShipIT and installed. I downloaded the alternate version (which is a text based installer) and installed that over clean Ubuntu Gutsy. After I got that, I configured a few things to my liking and then went around asking for help on my sound problem.

When I logged out to test the updated ALSA drivers to see if maybe that would help (my good friend Jon told me they would, but in the end… just wait) but then Xorg randomly broke and wouldn’t fix with a simple dpkg-reconfigure command, so off I went to go reinstall Hardy.

I got back in, customized everything to my liking again and then was messing around in alsamixer (I honestly kept setting everything back to default), then my magical pony powers made my speakers work again. I honestly don’t know how I did it, but it’s better than crappy sound from my EasyCall speaker-phone hub or just static from my Audigy.

So now, here I am, happy as can be and just about to start a game of Nexuiz with my great buddy Nathan. Things can’t really get any better. So if you excuse me. I’ll go enjoy Hardy some more and play a bit of Nexuiz. Talk to you later!

Best,
nikoPSK

~ by nikopsk on April 30, 2008.

4 Responses to “Some Hardy woes”

  1. Nicely written article, Niko. :) Glad to hear that you finally got your speakers working with your clean intallation of Hardy Heron. I will try to be prepared when I update my own old Pentium III to Hardy Heron. :)

    I will have to try out Nexiuz. Looks somewhat similar to “Counter Strike”. :) Of course, you have to pay for “Counter Strike”, but “Nexiuz” is free and open source. :) And it runs on Linux, Windows, and OSX. :)

  2. Yah um, too bad I still can’t update my version of Nexuiz yet. :(

  3. Arch is next on my list, after my bandwidth comes down again. I already have it, but xorg packages are like 70+ MBs from what I remember.

    Then later in my spare time, I’ll slowly download Hardy. I’ll probably get it before 8.10, I hope :)

    By the way, Congrats on getting your sound working. In my spare time of waiting for bandwidth to downslide, I have been fooling with GRUB. Check out my latest to posts if you are interested :)

    Oh, and Niko… I missed you :)
    I even wrote nathan to see if you were alright!

  4. Thanks a lot for the feedback Tom, Nexuiz is kind of like counterstrike; but counterstrike is a bit more fun (and has the option of being used in Garry’s mod). Hardy is a very nice turnout for me.

    Don’t worry Nathan, we can play soon and Will, I’m alright. ;) I caught up on your weblog just a while ago and I’m really glad I finally got my sound to work. Arch is very nice and I hope to chat to you all soon!

    nikoPSK

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

